Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price €31.00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €31.00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

 return with their highly-anticipated sixth album, Stone, on Sept. 15 via Abraxan Hymns. While they wrote Stone, frontman John Baizley recorded and pre-mixed it in real time, giving each song on Stone it's own sonic treatment. The album features original cover art by John Baizley.

The origins of Stone go back to 2020. It is not a pandemic record, but the core of it was written during its darkest days. Anxiety, relief, and resolve are stitched deeply throughout. When the foursome was isolated in Pennsylvania and New York, turning stems of music into full-fledged songs felt insurmountable. Baroness toiled as the world roiled. Creativity fully flourished only when they escaped to an Airbnb in Barryville, a quaint hamlet on the New York / Pennsylvania border. The undulating "Beneath the Rose," the energetic drive of "Anodyne," the trad-metal burlof "Last Word," and the dynamic introspection of “Shine” rushed out, as did the motorik of “Choir” and the emotional heft of “Magnolia.” Stone was a sort of catharsis, a turning of the page, a middle finger to the suffocating insincerity of expectation. 


Side 1:
1. Embers
2. Last Word
3. Beneath the Rose
4. Choir
5. The Dirge

Side 2:
1. Anodyne
2. Shine
3. Magnolia
4. Under the Wheel
5. Bloom

View full details